Books are more than a words

Jun 3, 2014

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings *Blog Tour & Giveaway*


 

Hello everyone!
Welcome to my stop in the blog tour for The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cumming!
I'm so happy to be part of this tour because I had this book in my reading pile since I first read about it last year. 
Today, I have a review to share with you.



The Book



The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex # 1)
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Release Date: June 10th 2014
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.



My review!


 

The Murder Complex is a haunting and heartbreaking story about a place where murders are almost normal, and even the kids have to kill to gain a future.

Somehow the cruelty of The Murder Complex reminds me of why I love dystopian books too much.

Books are sad, tragic and aching, and they made us want to be better persons.

That was The Murder Complex, the journey of two young souls to have the possibility of a healthy future, living in a city full of criminals. 

The book is told in dual POV.
Meadow is a girl who has always trained to survive. She’s a truly kickass heroine. She’s fierce and loyal to her family.
In the other hand Zephyr is a ward, a boy with no family working in the streets moving the corpses of the dead people… disturbing, right?

Well, that’s the life in The Murder Complex, and Zephyr is a boy with a good heart, but… he keeps a secret that can destroy everything.
The other characters, such as Meadow’s family and Zephyr best friend are well created and I learned to care about them. I truly like, specially, Meadow’s father. He’s a complex character and I loved reading about him.
The romance was light, and I liked it being that way. At first I was scared of an insta-love but the things got better as the story passed. 

Lindsay writing is addictive and fast passed. 
The only complain I have about the book is that I, personally don’t like books with short chapters, and in a book with switching POV’s I rather them being large, so the plot don’t slow down. I also would've like to know a little more about the world-building, but that's something that can be fixed in the sequel.

The plot is intense, an adrenaline roller-coaster. It’ll leave reader on the edge of their seat waiting for more…. and more.

Overall, The Murder Complex is a great beginning to a new series. It still leaves us with some questions that I hope will be answered in the second book.

The ending was satisfying. Shocking betrayals, an amazing couple of main characters and a world you have to know.



Check out the Prequel!




The Fear Trials (The Murder Complex 0.5)
Publisher: HarperTeen Impulse
Release Date: May 27th 2014
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

Meadow Woodson has been trained to survive. This is a prequel to The Murder Complex, by Lindsay Cummings, and it is set in a blood-soaked world where the murder rate is higher than the birth rate. For fans of Moira Young's Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson's father calls it The Fear Trials, and it is a rite of passage in their family. Meadow is up against her brother Koi. The Fear Trials will both harden her and make her brave. If Meadow wins, she will get a weapon of her own and the right to leave the Woodsons' houseboat without her father or mother at her side. Set in the violent, complex, and mysterious world of The Murder Complex, and introducing Meadow Woodson—a teenage girl trained to survive no matter what the cost—and her family, who are together for the last time on their houseboat in the Florida Everglades.



 Follow the FFBC The Murder Complex + Fear Trials blog tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.




 
Lindsay Cummings is the 20-year-old author of THE MURDER COMPLEX, as well as its sequel, coming 2014 from Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins, and the MG trilogy THE BALANCE KEEPERS, coming Fall 2014 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins.

Lindsay deals with chronic fatigue, can’t get enough of her two pesky German Shepherds, wolf cub, and two horses. She's still waiting on her letter from Hogwarts--it was probably just lost in the mail. You can follow Lindsay on twitter @lindsaycwrites


Win (1) of (3) signed hardback of The Murder Complex + swag pack (US Only)


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour organized by The Fantastic Flying Book Club (FFBC):




Reacciones:
5

5 comments:

  1. Guns for instant kill. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I reviewed this today too. I also enjoyed it -- lots of action and plot twists!
    Thanks so much for stopping by! Jen @ YA Romantics

    ReplyDelete
  3. It sounds too bloody and violent for my taste but a lot of people have been enjoying this one, glad you did too :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I loved the prequel and I think I'm gonna be reading The Murder Complex tonight itself! I'm so excited to read it and I love dystopians that give us food for thought!
    Thanks for the great review!

    ReplyDelete
  5. So glad you enjoyed this one. I have the prequel but have yet to read it. I've been hearing such great things so far. Cannot wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete

Hey! Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a link to your blog so I can go say hello :)