Books are more than a words

Aug 9, 2016

What's New? You're Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

 
A BOOK ABOUT GRAFFITI!!! OMG YES!
I cannot even tell you how much I love graffitis and books about them! You're Welcome, Universe sounds absolutely fantastic! I can't wait to read it!
Check it out and add it to your TBR!

Expected publication: March 7th 2017 by Knopf

 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17285330-the-last-time-we-say-goodbye 

A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.
When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way.

Reacciones:
2

2 comments:

  1. Ohh Graffiti! I love this kind of art when they have meaning, not the type that they write in the walls of my town. Hope this book turns out to be a great read when you get you hands on it!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This one sounds amazing!! Love that cover too. I hope you love this one when you get to it!

    ReplyDelete

Hey! Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a link to your blog so I can go say hello :)