Books are more than a words

Jan 27, 2014

Book review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan


Uninvited (Uninvited #1)
Author: Sophie Jordan
Pages: 384
Buying links: Amazon/ B&N/ TBD
Source: eARC received for review
Summary:
When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.
Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.
The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


 

***A huge thank you to Harper Teen and Edelweiss for this eARC***

I didn’t read any book by Sophie Jordan before Uninvited. I always wanted to try her Firelight series but somehow I never did.
So, when I had the chance to read an early copy of Uninvited I was almost jumping with excitement.
Uninvited is unique in its genre. I’ll never be tired of dystopian books and science fiction and one of the things I’m always looking for is the originality of the world the authors create, and the world of Uninvited definitely was something I never saw before.

To be fairly honest I’m not a huge fan of the Davy, the main character. The thing is… she wasn’t a good girl, but she wasn’t a bad girl, either. Davy was just a self centered and narrow-minded girl through almost the whole book, I was annoyed and even wanted to skip pages until reality shakes her... and it did, that's when the Uninvited turned better.
But Davy isn’t the essence of the book, what makes of Uninvited a book I’ll never forget is the whole topic about discrimination that the author brings throughout the lines.
You’ll see, in a world where you have a test to tell you, you have Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS) there’s a lot to tell about! But Sophie Jordan picked the topic of discrimination… and when I say discrimination I mean, everyone avoid the carries like the worst virus, even Davy, a carrier…
The book was beautifully written, it was a fast paced read. The conversations were well created and the characters perfectly developed. 

Although I really enjoyed this book I still have questions that never were answered, and some other things that didn’t make sense (I hope the next book answer these things)
The love story was a little fast but it was perfect for a book like this.
And… okay, I feel like I’m just pointing the things I didn’t like, but really, Uninvited is a great book.
It’s an action packed story that will have you on the edge of your seat.
If you're a fan of science fictions and thrilling reads, you have to check it out!

Reacciones:
0

0 POVs:

Post a Comment

Hey! Thanks for stopping by! Please leave a link to your blog so I can go say hello :)